Police Merit Commission


  • 2 p.m.
  • Second Tuesday of each month
  • Police Station
    1206 Michigan Ave.
    La Porte, IN 46350

Agendas & Minutes

Agendas are available prior to the meetings. Minutes are available following approval. 
Most Recent Agenda | View All Agendas and Minutes


The Merit Commission members serve three years terms. One Merit Commission member is appointed by the mayor, one member is appointed by the La Porte City Council, and one member is elected by the officers of the La Porte Police Department. The current Merit Commissioners are:
  • Terry Scherer, President
    Serving since 2018
  • Greg Fruth, Vice President
    Serving since 2017
  • Brian Chalik, Secretary
    Serving since 2019
About the Board
The La Porte Police Department Merit Commission has the authority to select, promote, discipline, demote, and terminate the employment of all sworn members of the La Porte Police Department.